Past Recipients

2015: Elizabeth Lemieux of Gorham, Maine.

2013: Molly McDaniel of Alta, Iowa.

2011: Brittany Newell of Belvedere, California. Brittany, who often writes and performs under the nom de plume Ratty St. John, will graduate from Stanford University in 2016. She has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize and is the winner of the Norman Mailer Award for Fiction. Her novel, Oola, is due out in April 2017 from Henry Holt & Company.



2009: Ava Ambrose Tomasula y Garcia of South Bend, Indiana.

2007: Sara (Steinhouse) Kass has worked as an editor, administrator, and manager for various employers from data researchers to architectural designers. A graduate of Brandeis University’s Creative Writing program, she is an avid reader and writer of fiction and poetry. She is the business manager of the Cape Cod Writers Center.



2005: Phoebe Rusch recently completed a Zell Fellowship in fiction at the University of Michigan, where she received her M.F.A. She also has a B.A. in history from Princeton University. Her essays have appeared in the World Policy Journal, Luna Luna and Bust magazine. She is working on her first novel, and makes a living as a massage therapist in the Chicago area.


2003: Sarah Resnick is a writer and senior editor at the magazine Triple Canopy. She lives in New York. Her journalism has appeared in The Guardian and n+1.

2001: Rocio Anica is native to Southern California. As an undergrad, she studied at the University of Southern California, but her real education happened in the various minimum wage jobs she endured and in the many, many libraries where she sought refuge. Rocio Anica is currently working on her thesis: a novel about ChicanX, street artivism, DIY culture, graffiti, surfing, misfits, and road-tripping.